Spokane Jr Chiefs | About us

Memorial Awards

  • Lois Hamm Memorial Award

    Given in memory of Mrs. Norris Ham, Lois, an enthusiastic youth hockey fan, and mother of outstanding goalie Frank Ham. This award is given to a goaltender 15 years of age or older, House or Rep, who is not only an exceptional goalie, but also an individual who has shown leadership and dedication and has given something back to his association.

  • Brad Porco Memorial Award

    Given in memory of Brad Porco, whose untimely death was caused by an auto accident while Brad and two of his brothers were en route to a hockey school in Canada. This award was originally established for a high school-aged player and is now presented to a Midget-aged player. Brad was a fine example of a Midget player who had the determination and desire to achieve and play at the highest level of hockey that he could, while still demonstrating integrity and sportsmanship for the game. Off the ice, Brad was always looking to give back to the program what it had given him. This award is presented to the House or Rep Midget player who demonstrates these qualities.

  • Matt Beamer Memorial Award

    Given in memory of Matt Beamer, a young boy who was a Squirt-aged player at the time of his tragic passing. Matt was watching an exhibition WHL hockey game at Eagles Ice-A-Rena when a puck left the ice surface, striking Matt in the head. Matt loved the game of hockey and played it with a boy’s passion, displaying sportsmanship and the desire to have fun. This award is presented to a Squirt-aged player who exemplifies the character of Matt and how he played the game and is voted on by the coaches from the Squirt division.

  • Geoff Leach Memorial Award

    The Geoff Leach Memorial Award was established in February 2001. Geoff died of a rare infection. He was a young man who was loved by all who met him. He never had an unkind word to say and his faith gave him strength and his commitment made him a strong hockey player. He was always encouraging on the bench and was an inspiration to his team. This memorial is awarded to an outstanding Bantam House player who has shown academic achievement as an honor roll student. This player is an inspiration on the bench and in the locker room. This player is involved in activities away from the ice rink and school displaying a strong moral character and a quality of excellence in every aspect of his or her life.

  • Russ Osborne Award

    The Russ Osborne award is given to a Midget Rep player that is an outstanding personality both on and off the ice. This award is in the name of Russ Osborne who, at the time of his accident, was a Midget “B” player. Russ was playing in a game at the Spokane Coliseum when he was checked into one of the bench area glass supports, ending his hockey career. Russ himself established this award in 2005 with it being awarded for the first time at the end of the 2006-2007 season. He personally presents this award each season.

Individual & Team awards

  • House Division Players of the Year (2023-)

  • House Division Volunteers of the Year (2023-)

  • Gil Rapp House Coach of the Year

  • House Team of the Year

  • Rep Division Players of the Year (2023-)

  • Rep Division Volunteers of the Year (2023-)

  • Rep Coach of the Year

  • Rep Team of the Year

Retired Awards

  • Eric Dormier Inspirational Award

    The Eric Dormaier Inspirational Award was established in 1977. Eric was a Bantam A player with SAYHA at the time of his passing. He was an inspiration both on and off the ice to his teammates as well as those who watched him play. Eric’s determination and desire for the game of hockey and life were even more evident during the long battle with his illness. He demonstrated great sportsmanship and integrity for the game of hockey that he loved so much. This award was presented each year to a Bantam-aged Rep player who exemplified the spirit of this inspirational award.

  • Norm Lochten, Sr. Award

    This award was given in memory of Norm Lochten, Sr to an outstanding parent from any division within the Association. 


Coming soon.